1st XI Cricket fall short against MAGS

MAGS spinners derail King’s


Saturday, 16 February 2019


MAGS 216/5 in 50 overs

King’s 205/all out in 47 overs


King’s fell 12 runs short of the target today in chasing 217. MAGS were restricted by some tight bowling by the improved pace quartet of Muhammad Abbas, Louis Anderson, Seb MacDonald and Patrick Maher, in spite of posting a 159 run partnership for the 3rdwicket. The King’s chase was on course and sailing along calmly at 74/1 and 105/2 but a middle order collapse took the match into the late overs. At 172/9 there was virtually no hope but dogged batting by Patrick Maher and Hugo Hill nursed the score to 200 and beyond and with victory just a few big hits away Hugo was the 4thLBW victim of the innings.

This was a gut-wrenching loss after the opening partnership contributed 74 runs at almost 5 RPO. Kavi Minhas and his new opening partner Muhammad Abbas scored freely and handled the first 6 bowlers without any alarm. Due to the non-availability of batting lynchpin Dimithri Gallage as a result of a serious injury, Nathan Robinson was shifted to ‘one-down’ in order to strengthen the middle order. He joined Abbas in the 16thover and there was no let up for the MAGS attack. At 105/1, the turning point in the match began with the senseless run out of Abbas who shot out for an unlikely single which Robinson wanted nothing to do with. MAGS were buoyed by this gift and applied the pressure through their classy spinners who picked up regular wickets until Patrick Maher and Hugo Hill almost performed a miracle. The King’s lower order, apart from Maher and Hill, spurned a rare opportunity to showcase their batting prowess.

The skipper Cory Dickson had a forgettable match by his high standards and will need to bounce back next week to restore some confidence in the team.

K Minhas                                    40                                M Abbas                       34

N Robinson                               32                                O Madaan                     12

T Paranthoiene                        4                                 C Dickson                     2

J Bhatia                                    8                                  S MacDonald                18

C Cleal                                      3                                  P Maher                       14 not out

H Hill                                        12                               

DNB: L Anderson

M Abbas                       10-1-38-2                                 L Anderson                   10-0-44-0        

S MacDonald                5-0-25-0                                   P Maher                       7-2-19-0          

H Hill                            10-1-39-0                                 K Minhas                      2-0-12-0          

C Dickson                     6-0-33-1